History of AFD

Armed Forces Division (AFD) was raised in December 1978 as Commander-in-Chief's Secretariat under Ministry of Defence at its present location. On 10 November 1986, the office was renamed as Supreme Command Headquarters under the same Ministry. In 1989, this office was given the status of a Division and renamed as Supreme Command Headquarters Division. At the same time, its affiliation was separated from the Ministry of Defence and included in the Rules of Business of the Government. With the change of form of Government from Presidential system to Parliamentary system in 1991, Supreme Command Headquarters Division was renamed as Armed Forces Division and its businesses were reallocated. In 21 April 1992, the Table of Organization & Equipment of Armed Forces Division was revised into present setup and started functioning with 04 Directorates. In the contemporary time frame AFD was brought under by Prime Ministers’ Office. Thereafter,  on 03 June 2014 Table of Organization and Equipment (TO&E) was again revised and more 01 directorate was incorporated, which brought AFD on today’s shape. So far, AFD is headed by 25 Principal Staff Officers (PSO). The first PSO was Brigadier General Abul Hasanat Md Abdullah and present PSO is  Lieutenant General Mizanur Rahman Shameem, BP, OSP, BAM, ndc, psc.